The Six Perfections: A Path to Inner Joy

The Buddha taught that there are six qualities that we must develop if we wish to transcend suffering and find inner joy. They are called the Six Perfections, which are generosity, virtue, patience, vigor, meditation and wisdom. The first four teach us how to develop compassion and the last two help us to embody the wisdom that is needed to act selflessly and effectively. In this six-session series, we will work with a different perfection each week, with group discussions on what these qualities mean to us.  We will practice Tibetan yoga, as well as chanting, related to each quality, and each class will end with a short meditation session to help integrate the experiences.

Class 1, July 22: The Perfection of Generosity, with the Tara, Mother of Compassion

Class 2, July 29: The Perfection of Virtue, with Avalokiteshvara, Bodhisattva (Great Being) of Compassion

Class 3, August 5: The Perfection of Patience, with Padmasambhava, founder of Buddhism in Tibet

Class 4, August 12: The Perfection of Vigor, with Manjushri, the Bodhisattva of Wisdom

Class 5, August 19 : The Perfection of Meditation, with Shakyamuni Buddha

Class 6, August 26: The Perfection of Wisdom, with Prajnaparamita, the female Bodhisattva of Wisdom


Ratna Ling Retreat Center
Read More



More Info

Read More